10 awesome shows that shaped my childhood

Leave a comment

February 2, 2013 by Diana M

Image

I was the shy, quiet type growing up. I didn’t go out much, didn’t have many friends, but as a lot of 90’s kids did, I watched a hell of a lot of TV. I was practically raised by the family television. I spent hours upon hours of watching all sorts of cartoons and shows and movies. I knew the day, hour and when exactly the commercials appeared at each and every one of them. Like I said, I didn’t go out much.

But thing is, I learned a lot about the important things in life, like the difference between good and evil, about values and morals, about friendship and love and courage and about refusing to give up. The things that I took from those shows and cartoons shaped a huge part of me that together with my life experiences (and a whole other bunch of stuff) made me who I am today.

So here are 10 of the most awesome shows that shaped my childhood (and probably yours too):

1. Sailor Moon

I got to start with Sailor Moon. It was my absolute favorite, I have all of the 200 episodes, the movies, and other collectibles. I could watch Sailor Moon even when I’m 30, because no matter how silly this show can be, I feel like the lessons I learned are timeless. Friendship, love, not giving up no matter what, and protecting what you love are but a few of those lessons. And the fact that there 5 main female heroines, each unique and different not only in their super-powers but also in their personalities, well I think that’s a really positive example to set for young girls. And, of course, let’s not forget: Moon Prism Power, Make Up! (awesomeness)

2. Scooby Doo

I mean c’mon, who didn’t like Scooby Doo? The mystery-solving, the creepy monsters who turned out to (all) be just guys dressing up for Halloween, the flowery Mystery Van, the 70’s signature clothes, the constant eating of humongous sandwiches and Scooby snacks, the unlikely pair of scared guy & dog, and of course who can forget this: I would have gotten away with it too if it wasn’t for those meddling kids and that stupid dog! Several generations growing up with this show will always remember Scooby-dooby-doo (and sometimes Scrappy too).

3. Captain Planet

This was one of the few shows that took a different approach and decided to focus on the problem of ecology and saving the Earth. Kwame from Africa, Wheeler from North America, Linka from Russia (or the Soviet Union how she was presented at first), Gi from Asia and Ma-ti from South America combined their powers to summon Captain Planet, the red underwear possessor, green haired, better-than-Edward sparkler who saves the day, every day. And it had advice on how to be more sustainable at the end of each episode. How cool is that, right?

Go, Planet!

4. Tom & Jerry

Classic. It’s like if you haven’t seen Tom & Jerry, you haven’t lived. The constant chase, the brilliantly set traps that never worked, the food, the fights, the classy music, their differences and similarities, everything put together just makes this one of the best shows ever. I still remember the episode when Tom is trying to get to Heaven and avoid Hell, or the one when he serenades that lovely cat singing: is you or is you ain’t my baby? What is the episode that you liked best?

5. Dexter’s Laboratory

“Uuu, what does this button do?”, “DeeDee, no!” When I saw the first episode of Dexter’s Laboratory, you know, the one where they change in all the animals of the jungle and chase each other behind their mother’s back,  I instantly fell in love with it. How can you not fall in love with boy genius whose day gets destroyed by evil but oblivious blond sister, DeeDee? I mean, let’s face it, we learned our first French with Dexter (“Omlette du Fromage” anyone?), all that scientific mumbo-jumbo that might have peaked an actual interest in science ( I had a make-belief laboratory in my room which consisted of a big box I could fit into, but shhhh! it’s a secret!), aaand we learned the difference between a good day and a bad by: what a fine day for science vs. (today is) not a good day for science.

6. Dragon Ball 

At first I didn’t like it, but because my brother was watching it, I started to watch it too. And I got hooked. I mean really hooked. This was the show that got me into all the other never-give-up type of heroes later (like Naruto, Inuyasha, Bleach, etc). And I definitely had a lot to learn from this one. And besides, who doesn’t like Goku going all Super Saiyan and beating the crap out of Freeza? Over 9000 anyone?

7. Courage the cowardly dog

I think I might have had some nightmares when I first started watching it, it definitely spooked me a couple of times, but hey! the show was about facing your fears, so I kept on watching it. I ended up loving it of course. The quircky characters, Eustace yelling You stupid dog!, Courage being scared of absolutely everything but still wanting to save his family, and of course, my favorite line: the things I do for love.

8. X-men

This to me felt like a grown-up cartoon. The action, the tight clothes, the fighting, the little love stories and the lines, yup, made me feel all grown-up just watching it. This was my first and most treasured contact with the X-men, I didn’t read the comics, and I watched the movies later on, and also X-men Evolution (which I also loved btw), but the original cartoons is what got me hooked into the whole X-men madness. I also loved the strong female characters (Rogue, Storm, Jean Grey, even Jubilee) that could set a positive example to young girls, and frankly, Wolverine wasn’t on my favorite character list back then, but Gambit was 😉

9. Batman

I don’t know about you, but for me Batman the animated series was just plain awesome, much better than the movies anyway. I could never get over how uncomfortable those Batsuits look in all the movies. And Joker is just epic. The only one that surpasses the animated series’ Joker is probably Heath Ledger’s crazy, disturbed version of him. Let’s see: what are some memorable lines or quotes from Batman that you remember?

10. Looney Toones

If you are one of those people who whenever he sees a carrot, takes a bite out of it and says: Eh, what’s up, doc?, then your childhood was awesome. Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Tweety & Sylvester, some of the funniest cartoons of all time. I have to admit that sometimes, when I play with my cat, and she’s hiding under the covers, I still say “I twat I taw a pussycat! I did! I did taw a pussycat!”

And, as an added bonus, here are some more shows that you might recall from your awesome childhood:

Now let me ask you this: what are your favorite childhood shows? What about favorite lines or quotes?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 407 other followers

