Just do it.

Leave a comment

January 28, 2013 by Diana M

Image

I saw this guy wearing a Just do it t-shirt the other day that reminded me of Nike (of course!), but it also made me think about all the articles out there about getting things done. You know, the millions and cazillions of articles and blog posts about how to be more productive, more motivated, to have a better performance, basically how to be more of a doer and less of a sitter. And they’re all great, I mean I read a lot of them and they make total sense on all levels. But yet I still find myself struggling with the getting things done part.

You know why? It’s because I know I can do all the planning and the organizing in the world, but when it comes down to choosing between watching a new episode of Game of Thrones and washing the dishes, guess what? Sometimes I’m going to choose Game of Thrones; maybe not all the times, but still.

So there is this one thing that I found that actually works for me, even though I know it’s a continuous battle with myself to be more productive and less distracted, and I am still trying to wrap my head around some things. And yes it is different for each and every one of you out there because you all have different ways of getting things done. What I mean is that the rewards thing might work for some of you (read 5 chapters, have a cookie; do the laundry, have a chocolate; take an exam, have a party), or maybe the guilt trips (if I don’t do this now, I’ll have more work tomorrow, I’ll feel bad about myself and I’ll screw up my entire life because of it!  -this is an extreme by the way), who knows, maybe even the well-laid out work-break cycle might work (work for an hour and a half, break for 20 minutes while I watch an episode of Big Bang Theory); but for me, personally, the message Just Do It works wonders.

I simply shut my brain off of all the comfort thoughts as I like to call them (maybe after the show, maybe after I sit in bed for a while, maybe after I eat – again-, maybe tomorrow, etc. I’ll do all the things that I’m supposed to do), and I get up and I just do it. Got to wash the dishes? Ok, I’m on it. Got to write my paper? Let’s open that Word Document! Got to read 5 chapters for tomorrow’s quizz? Bring it on, boring book! Got to wake up early in the morning for work? Not even thinking about complaining. Why? Because the minute you do start complaining about how much it sucks to wake up at that unbelievable hour at the crack of dawn to go give 8 precious hours of your life to work is the minute you start compromising yourself. It’s the start of the negative thoughts that will crawl into your life and give birth to clouds of frustration, resentment and stress over your head, raining on you constantly until you get done whatever it is that you’re putting off.

So don’t even dare to think about how much it sucks that you have to do something you don’t like, or how much you’d like to postpone it and do something else instead, just get up and do it. It’ll be done before you know it.

And, if you’re a creative individual, you can actually make that thing fun! Yup, you read me! You can have fun doing the dishes and the laundry, and the paper for school, and getting up in the morning for work. You just got to find your own crazy, weird, quirky way and just do it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 407 other followers

